Thursday, 13 June 2019

Credit Union 2 teacher football competition.

A great football season for Shrone came to a close today in Barradubh Community field. Shrone qualified for the semi final of The Credit Union 2 teacher schools for the second year in a row and faced a stiff challenge from Raheen NS. Shrone started well with a goal from Jamie Cronin  with Sarah Lenihan providing support in the forward line. However Shrone were on the back foot for the majority of the game as Raheen dominated and were two points ahead in the closing stages. Aine O Sullivan made a big impact when introduced and Shrone were rescued by a goal from Aidan McAulliffe and Riain Murphy added an insurance point from a free. Final score Shrone 2 -1 Raheen 0-5 
Shrone faced Fybough NS in the final Shrone started well and were a point up after 4 minutes however some outstanding play from Fybough saw them take a two goal lead before half time. Shrone showed tremendous spirit with some outstanding individual play from Niamh Cremin and Aidan Mc Auliffe. Aoife Cremin took up a man marking task on Fyboughs outstanding midfield player and certainly limited his impact on the game.With time running out Shrone went in search of goals and Riain Murphy found the net from a 13 meter free. Marc Cremin pulled off an incredible save on the other end of the field but took a heavy knock as he did so Ava Twomey came in and did a marvellous job in goals not letting a single ball past her and her kick outs always found their mark. Shrone certainly had chances to win the game but stout defending from Fybough prevented a Shrone comeback and the final score read Fybough 2-6 Shrone 1-3. 

Afterwards presentations were made to the outstanding male and female player over the course of the tournament. Jamie Cronin was selected as the best boy from Shrone proving to be top scorer for Shrone with a total 4-5 scored in four games. The best female from Shrone was Aoife Cremin always proving solid in defence. As a bonus Shrone recieved a another award, Niamh Cremin was selected as the best female player from the final an award richly deserved. 

No comments:

Post a comment